15 communities across Saskatchewan are part of a school maintenance project put on by the Government of Saskatchewan. The 15 communities include Aberdeen, Allan, Clavet, Delisle, Gravelbourg, Hague, Harris, Hepburn, Humboldt, Langham, Meadow Lake, Saskatoon, Swift Current, Tisdale and Yorkton.

The Government of Saskatchewan announced $25.9 million in funding for developments such as mechanical and structural component upgrades in schools in June of 2020. Schools chosen to take part in the stimulus maintenance funding were labelled a priority by school divisions in their preventative maintenance and renewal plans. The Government of Saskatchewan stated that by providing funding to the projects, school divisions are now able to proceed without using up a significant portion of their Preventative Maintenance and Renewal funds. 

"Through our government's stimulus plan, we are building stronger schools and communities while creating jobs," Education Minister Dustin Duncan said. "We are pleased to see the progress made on these projects and in our education sector."

Three of the projects have been completed already:

  • Roof replacement for Harris-Tessier School - Sun West School Division
  • Asbestos remediation at Swift Current Comprehensive High School - Chinook School Division
  • Roof replacement for Tisdale Middle and Secondary School - North East School Division.

Four others are expected to be finished by the end of November 2021:

  • Roof replacement for Aberdeen Composite School - Prairie Spirit School Division;
  • Roof replacement for Delisle Composite - Prairie Spirit School Division;
  • Structural repairs at Hague Elementary School - Prairie Spirit School Division; and
  • Roof replacement for Yorkton Regional High School - Good Spirit School Division.

In addition to all the ongoing projects, work on emergency lighting within all Horizon School Division facilities in Humboldt is expected to be completed by the end of December 2021. 

Four other projects are between 20 to 80 percent complete:

  • Major renovations at Clavet Composite School - Prairie Spirit School Division
  • Roof replacement for Father Robinson School, Saskatoon - St. Paul's Roman Catholic Separate School Division
  • Boiler replacement at Hepburn School - Prairie Spirit School Division
  • Roof replacement for Lakeview School, Meadow Lake - Northwest School Division

"Investing in school maintenance projects like these is an important part of our government's commitment to build a stronger and better educated Saskatchewan," SaskBuilds and Procurement Minister Jim Reiter said. "These projects not only help address key maintenance needs in schools across our province, they also helped stimulate activity in local economies in these communities as part of our record investment in infrastructure stimulus funding."

The Government of Saskatchewan stated in a release that these projects are part of the Government of Saskatchewan’s $7.5 billion capital plan to build a strong Saskatchewan and stimulate Saskatchewan’s economic recovery.